Our Cathedral and the Chapel

The Cathedral was designed in a gothic style by Charles Haight of New York. The cornerstone was laid in 1867 and the first service was held on Christmas Day in 1868. The stone was quarried in Cape Elizabeth and the wood is black ash.  Installed in 1900, the Rose Window is 17 feet in diameter and represents the Ascension of Christ into heaven. The stained glass panels on the right and left depict the Crucifixion and Resurrection of Christ. The French marble altar was installed in 1925 and harmonizes with the carved oak reredos.

Emmanuel Chapel, designed in 1901 by Bishop Stephen Codman, is octagonal in shape, with a vaulted ceiling with gilt ribbing carved of Santo Domingo mahogany. The painting, “Madonna and Child” by John LaFarge is nicknamed “The American Madonna”. The stations of the cross, by Don Meserve, are unique in that events are shown from Christ’s perspective.